Steering Committee – Scientific and Technical Committee – Secretariat


FFEM has a specific governance, with an interministerial Steering Committee, a Scientific and Technical Committee composed of a panel of experts, and a Secretariat which handles the management of the operational and strategic cycles.
  • logo linkedin
  • logo email
Congo Brazzaville - Nouabalé Ndoki National Park - Wali Bai
FFEM’s governance is based on three bodies which interact right from the definition of the fund’s strategy up to the operational implementation of projects.
  • An interministerial Steering Committee, chaired by the Ministry of the Economy
  • A Scientific and Technical Committee, which ensures the relevance and appropriateness of projects in terms of the strategic orientations approved by the member institutions of FFEM’s Steering Committee
  • And a Secretariat, which handles the management of the strategic cycle and the appraisal cycle, as well as the monitoring of projects.


The Steering Committee

It meets three times a year to identify future projects and commit their financing.

It also launches project evaluations and decides on FFEM’s strategic programming framework. It approves the Secretariat’s budget and, finally, it appoints the members of the Scientific and Technical Committees.


The Scientific and Technical Committee

This committee is independent. It is composed of 12 experts recognized for their economic, environmental and social competencies in FFEM’s areas of operation.

The Secretariat

The Secretariat is composed of 10 permanent officers. Its role is to appraise and monitor projects, prepare and implement the decisions of the Steering Committee, and handle sectoral relations with the various partners: institutional, scientific, economic and associations.

The Secretariat is entrusted to Agence Française de Développement, which provides the material and human resources required for its operation. The State has entrusted AFD with a mandate to sign the agreements and contracts related to FFEM-funded projects.



Useful link

FFEM overview
Decision-making body
  • Ministry of Economy and Finance
    Directorate-General of the Treasury

  • Ministry of Europe and Foreign Affairs
    Directorate-General of Globalisation, Development and Partnerships
  • Ministry for the Ecological and Inclusive Transition
    Directorate of European and International Affairs
  • Ministry of Higher Education, Research and Innovation
    Directorate-General for Research and Innovation
  • Minisrty of Agriculture and Food
    Sub-Directorate of Inrternational Exchanges
  • French Development Agency
Advisory body
  • Agriculture / Water
    Sébastien Treyer, President of the STC, Director of Programmes at IDDRI
  • Sustainable Ddvelopment / Economy
    Lucien Chabason, Advisor to the IDDRI Directorate
  • Rural development / Forestry
    Alain Karsenty, Socio-economist, CIRAD - "Environment and Societies" department
  • Water / Agriculture / Forestry
    Maya Leroy, AgroParisTech
  • Biodiversity
    Doyle McKey, Professor of Ecology, University of Montpellier II
  • Climate change / Energy
    Sandrine Mathy, UPMF - CNRS PACTE-EDEN Research officer
  • Coastal ecosystems / Marine biology
    Christine Pergent-Martini, Lecturer HC - HDR at the University of Corsica
  • Urban development
    Luc Raimbault, Chief engineer, urban planner - Communauté d'agglomération Cergy-Pontoise
  • Land degradation / Desertification
    Mélanie Requier-Desjardins, Scientific administrator at the IAMM of the CIHEAM, teacher-researcher
  • Economy / Energy
    Anjali Shanker, Director General IED
Operational body
  • Secretary General
    Stéphanie Bouziges-Eschmann
  • Forests, agriculture, desertification
    Aurélie Ahmim-Richard
  • Biodiversity, Small-Scale Initiatives Program
    Constance Corbier-Barthaux
  • International waters, pollutants, sustainable city
    Janique Etienne
  • Ozone
    Diane Ménard
  • Climate, energy
    Dominique Richard
  • Monitoring of financing agreements - Engineer assistant
    Laurence Alligbonnon
  • General and Budgetary Affairs
    Dominique Boirard
  • Disbursement Tracking - Engineer assistant
    Elisabeth Carpentier
  • Communication
    Delphine Donger
  • Coordinating Assistant
    Carine Perillier